March Favorites | 2016

Descendants of the Sun

Like clockwork. Like clockwork. Every two years, I am bound to become obsessed with a Korean drama series at the coming of spring. 2014 was the year for “You Who Came From the Stars” and last month, I could not put “Descendants of the Sun” down. Song Joong Ki and Song Hye Kyo makes the dream couple and the show fulfills my ultimate fantasy about soldiers (yes, I’m that girl who binges military homecomings on YouTube and BAWLS). The show defies the traditions of Korean drama, so don’t expect any love triangle or terminal diseases. A combination of romance and action, the 16-episode series is both hilarious and thrilling. Just all kinds of “kick-you-in-the-crotch”, “spit-on-your-neck” fantastic (in the best way). Couldn’t recommend the show enough.

2018, Korea, I wait for your offer.

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

All along, I have categorized SK-II as a “mama’s brand”, as in “skincare I wouldn’t need until I’m in my forties”. However, I couldn’t resist the raving reviews, gorgeous packaging and the tempting price tag (I purchased this at 80% of the price). And I have seen a difference in my skin. Maybe it’s the change of weather, though I doubt it based on past experiences, my skin has started to produce the just right amount of oil. I no longer wake up feeling that my skin is actually sucking inwards into my flesh searching for hydration. The outbreak of pimples and acnes also significantly reduced, and my skin has just changed for the cleaner. The significant usage of the toner should be evidence in itself – I have used it absolutely every single day, morning and night.

Jay Chou

Now I’ve already written all about Jay in my March Playlist post, but it wouldn’t be right if I don’t mention him as a favorite as well. My childhood of chasing butterflies, secretly holding hands at the movies and Sunday-driving with my parents has came back to me with a few simple notes. Maybe sometimes memories aren’t that hard to retrieve, especially the good ones.

Bose Bluetooth Speaker

To go hand in hand with Jay’s songs, the Bose speaker has been the cherry on top. The meticulous base sounds do not disappoint. And the portability of the speaker has allowed for some rocking backyard jamming sessions.

xx L.

Leave a comment